Salt

“You, beloved, are the salt of the earth. But if salt becomes bland and loses its saltiness, can anything make it salty again? No. It is useless. It is tossed out, thrown away, or trampled.”

Matthew 5:13

People have often told me that I grew up in a very blessed environment, and I cannot say that I disagree. I have two of the most loving and Godly parents you could find, am the middle sister to two absolutely stunning young women, and grew up in a neighborhood with a church on every street corner. I was raised to know that my faith was my own choice, but had an endless supply of resources and people that could continually guide and direct me to Jesus. When I was a junior in high school, I became heavily involved in a group called Young Life and also began serving in several churches. I have done everything from leading small groups to running sound boards to leading worship. I grew up surrounded by the Gospel. And because of that, many could say that I grew up blessed. But by attending college, I have realized that there was a slight disadvantage to my spiritual upbringing.

Ever since I was a sophomore in high school, I have been praying that God would use me to reach people that are often seen as “unreachable.” I was growing restless in my hometown, constantly being surrounded by folks who already accepted and understood who Christ was. I was itching to meet people who did not know anything about Jesus, not to shove Him down their throats, but to plant seeds for God to be able to work in their lives. From the young age of fifteen, God began to prepare my heart for a work that I could never imagine for myself; something that He has just barely began to shine light on in my life.

I currently attend the University of North Texas in Denton, which is a highly artistic and very liberal school. That being said, I absolutely love it here. Why? On the surface, it has a lot to do with the abundance of local musicians and locally brewed coffee, but the deeper reason is because the citizens of Denton are so in need of Jesus.

As soon as I got settled in school, I became involved in Young Life at the university as well as attended church, but I made an extra effort to make acquaintances outside of my comfort zone that is the Christian bubble with the intention of gaining a deeper knowledge of different life styles and upbringings. At first, I was excited. I was intrigued by people’s stories; what each person believed, how they grew up, and what sort of things they were interested in. My mind was blown by the amount of different people with different backgrounds that God had placed right in my path, to the point it has actually been a challenge to my own faith to find out what it means to live for Him and to really be a difference. I began to feel the weight of what I believed and how important it was for me to live differently so that Jesus could make His move.

Now, this is something that Christians have been learning to do since the very birth of Christianity. How are we supposed to act? Where does the flesh stop and the Spirit start? Luckily, the Christians of today have the chance to learn from the guys who lived and learned this lesson first. Peter, who did life with Jesus, traveled with Him and saw His ministry first hand, struggled with this. After Jesus had been captured by the Romans, Peter followed them to wherever they were taking Him. In John 18:17, a servant girl recognized Peter and asked Him if he was a follower of Jesus, but denied Him out of shame. Later, he stood up to get warm and he was again recognized, but he denied Him again. And lastly, when someone said that they saw him with Jesus in the garden, he denied his Savior a third time. But despite him being ashamed to know Jesus then, he still was able to go on to become the rock of the church, heading the creation of churches and spreading the story of Jesus all across the world.

Today, denying Jesus looks much different than just saying we don’t know Him. It could mean that we don’t take advantage of the chance to share His extraordinary love story or we live as a mirror reflection to the world around us when that is not what we are called to do. As children of God, we are called to be salt in a flavorless world. Our purpose is to shed light into a dark room. What does that mean? Each day, it is our job to wake up and put on our full armor of God. It is so much easier to live the Christian life while swimming in a sea of believers, but God calls us to step out of our comfort zone. The only way to spread the light is by moving a lit up lamp into a dark area. The only way to spread Jesus is to be the salt and never lose your flavor amongst the flavorless.

Leave a Reply

